Oil and Gas Law

Home Oil and Gas Law

The members of Gray and Becker’s oil and gas section collectively have more than 100 years of experience in the oil and gas industry and legal field. Our attorneys attempt to resolve oil and gas issues amicably, but recognize that some circumstances require decisive action through ligation.


Why Consult an Attorney for Oil and Gas Challenges?

There is very little about the oil and gas industry that is straightforward. On the contrary, most oil and gas issues, from purchase and sale agreements to surface waivers, refinery operations to trade, are undeniably complex. As a result, it’s generally a good idea to seek legal counsel in both proactive and reactive scenarios. Certainly, if you’re being sued or you hope to sue someone else, you’ll consult an attorney. Similarly, if you need contracts drafted or negotiated, you’ll consult a lawyer. However, there are so many complexities to working either with or within the oil and gas industry that it’s generally a good idea to connect with an attorney proactively, even if your dealings are not explicitly related to drafting new contracts or responding to a litigation-related need.

Seeking Support Proactively

Our firm takes great pride in our more than 100 collective years representing clients with a stake in oil and gas matters. Not every attorney has extensive experience in this industry. It’s important to have representation that knows this industry inside and out, so that you can rest assured that no detail, no matter how seemingly insignificant, will weaken our ability to protect and advance your interests.  

The fact that the “devil is in the details” so often in oil and gas matters is one reason why it’s so critical to seek counsel proactively, whenever possible. If you have a professional consult on your oil and gas matters from the start, they are less likely to develop into a complex legal challenge that could cost you significant time, money, and effort.

Seeking support proactively begins with scheduling a consultation with our experienced team. Once we have a strong sense of your situation, needs, and priorities, we’ll be able to advise you of your legal options, answer your questions, clarify the law, and start working to ensure that your rights are protected and your interests preserved to the greatest extent possible. If filing litigation ends up being your best option, we’ll be ready to support you every step of the way.

Oil and Gas Litigation

Our attorneys litigate issues relating to leases, royalties, ownership, mineral interests, title disputes, production, exploration, transportation, operating agreements, joint venture agreements, farmout agreements, purchase and sale agreements, gas contracts, pooling agreements, unitization agreements, surface waivers, receiverships, and other niche issues related to oil and gas law. We represent mineral owners, surface owners, producers, transporters, refiners, and traders. Our clients include individuals and companies, large and small.

Our attorneys have extensive experience in all phases of oil and gas litigation from trial through appeal. We act as lead counsel and co-counsel with other law firms and attorneys. We have attorneys that are board certified in civil trial law and oil, gas, and mineral law.

Oil and Gas Transactional

Our oil and gas law team assists in mineral management, buying and selling mineral rights, leasing, audits, division orders, operating agreements, purchase and sale agreements, as well as preparing and reviewing various oil and gas agreements for upstream, midstream, and downstream transactions.

Oil and Gas Regulatory

Our attorneys handle cases at the Texas Railroad Commission and the Texas General Land Office. We offer advice and represent clients in a variety of oil and gas regulatory matters.

Oil and Gas Title Examination

Our title examiners have performed runsheet, standup, and abstract title examinations in every producing county in Texas. We review title instruments, render and review title opinions, including drilling title opinions, acquisition title opinions, division order title opinions, and title opinions rendered in connection with the purchase and sale of ranch and mineral properties.


Legal Assistance Is Available

If you work within the oil and gas industry or you need to engage in legal dealings with members of this industry, consider connecting with the experienced Texas legal team at Gray & Becker, P.C. today. Although many oil and gas law matters can be resolved amicably, these issues may be undeniably complex and require professional guidance before they can be navigated fairly and successfully. Also, it is possible that your legal needs may extend to litigation from time to time. This doesn’t necessarily mean that you’ll need to take the matter all the way to trial. However, it’s important to work with a firm that has extensive experience in oil and gas law matters; that way, if your case does progress all the way to trial, it’ll have the greatest possible opportunity for success.